recipes

No Bake Fresh Strawberry Pie

Ya’ll. This is hands-down my favorite recipe. Not to honk my own horn, but this is by far the best dessert I make. I try not to make desserts very often because we certainly don’t need them sitting around the house, but when I know it will be shared with others and we won’t bring leftovers home, this is my summer go-to dessert!

I love fresh strawberries and I’ve personally never understood why such a sweet, delicious fruit needs a fake-strawberry glaze over top of them. This pie definitely does not need it! Everyone who has tasted this pie actually commented that it was better without the glaze!

I honestly can’t take full credit for this recipe. I tried this pie once several years ago when a friend made it. She briefly explained the ingredients and I tried my best to remember..so when I needed a dessert I tried to re-create hers (minus the glaze) While it turned out a little different, it was still delicious so I just stuck with it. I did, however, have to find a way to make it gluten free!

If you’re not worried about gluten free, you can just use a pre-made graham cracker pie crust. Lucky duck.

If you ARE gluten free, don’t worry, this is a super easy crust-and it honestly tasted just as good if not better than the graham crackers!

For the crust:

1 7 oz package of gluten free grahams or shortbread cookies (I used cookies-it is very hard to find gf grahams around here)

6-7 TBS of butter, melted

1 tsp cinnamon

**Place the cookies in a large zip-close bag and crush with a rolling pin OR put them in your blender/food processor if you’re not too lazy to drag it out. Which I was. Crush them until they are finally ground and pour them into a bowl to stir in the cinnamon. Pour in the melted butter and stir until all crumbs are damp, then spread into a greased 9 inch pie pan, then refrigerate!**

While the crust is refrigerating, wash and slice your strawberries (1 package will be enough) and set them in a colander to dry a bit while you make your filling.

For the filling:

1 8 oz. package of cream cheese (you’ll only use about 3/4 of the package)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup powdered sugar

8 oz whipped topping of your choice

**cut 3/4 of the cream cheese block into chunks and microwave for 20-30 seconds to soften. Pour in vanilla extract and powdered sugar and beat until thoroughly mixed and creamy. Fold in whipped topping.**

Get your pie crust out and spread on the whipped topping mixture, lick the spatula, (this spatula is the.best.ever. for spreading and smoothing!) and top with strawberries! This pie will need to be refrigerated if not serving immediately. Nobody wants warm cream cheese.

pixlr_20170719121650497

This pie can be easily doubled with no changes if you’re making it for a large crowd. It is definitely a crowd-pleaser, so don’t expect to be bringing leftovers home!

Also make sure you are following us on Facebook for other kitchen tips and hints!

 

Printable Version Click Here:

Strawberry Pie Printable Recipe

 

2 thoughts on “No Bake Fresh Strawberry Pie

Leave a Reply

