recipes

Homemade Granola With Coconut Oil

Buying granola in the stores is always so tempting. It seems much easier…but then you look at all the ingredients. There’s so many! And so many of the store bought granolas are packed with unhealthy fats and ingredients I’m not entirely sure how to pronounce. Plus, to find one that is officially gluten free, it’s not cheap and it’s a small bag. Buying a few ingredients to have on hand can last through several batches of granola, and a few of these you probably even have in your pantry already!

So, I started making my own granola! I love the basic ingredients, yet amazing taste! I eat granola and yogurt almost daily..and I never get tired of it! Plus you can change flavors around based on the seasons (so stay tuned for that!) but for today this is my basic go-to granola recipe. This recipe can very easily be doubled if you have multiple granola eaters in the house! Time saving tip: When I’m feeling extra organized, I will put some granola in little snack sized baggies or some mini containers. Then, it’s ready to grab in the morning with my yogurt and I can take it on the go!

OKAY, here is the recipe…

**In case you missed it, go see the  recap on the health benefits of coconut oil. This will for sure inspire you to make your own granola!)**

1 heaping cup of gluten free oats

1 TBS coconut sugar

pinch of salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

4 tsp coconut oil

1 TBS honey

1 tsp vanilla

1 TBS almond flour

  1. Preheat oven to 300
  2. Mix together dry ingredients in a bowl
  3. Melt honey and coconut oil together, then stir in vanilla (I used this heat proof mini spatula-it works great for mixing AND scraping)
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until well combined
  5. Spread evenly on a parchment paper lined baking pan and bake for 25 minutes

 

20170705_144810

Notes: It helps if you stir the granola about half way through the baking time. This helps prevent burning

I added raisins to mine just because I like them, but they are totally optional! Some other add-in options include almonds, pecans, or maybe even a handful of dark chocolate chips!

This granola can be eaten plain, with milk, or of course you can make your own fruit and yogurt parfait!

How will you eat yours?

20170705_160532

One thought on “Homemade Granola With Coconut Oil

Leave a Reply

